top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAndrea Lashley

Randell Lake - Monarda Population


Built in 1909 on Shawnee Creek, Randell Lake is owned by the City of Denison. It now serves to provide the water supply to Denison city residents.


I have lived in the Texoma region since 1985 and have just recently found this little gem. In fact, my first trip out there this year, I didn't even discover the full area available for public use. I did not realize you could drive accross the spillway.


I have now been out to this location several times. However, it wasn't until my last trip out there that I discovered how large of a Monarda population there is at this location.

I remembered seeing vegetation that resembled monarda my last trip out to the site. My family and I were out that way yesterday and decided to check it out. As we drove in, I noticed that the site had been mowed. Oh, so many beautiful flowers were already gone. I wish the City of Denison would wait to mow like the Texas Department of Transportation does. They don't start until the middle of June.


Then, we crossed the Randell Lake dam spillway. Its actually kind of exciting crossing the spillway. But it was more exciting what came next. Both sides of the open field on the other side of the spillway were not mowed and there was Monarda citriodora as far as the eye could see! SCORE!


Now, I just have to call and get permission for collection!

32 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page